New Jersey Auto Insurance FAQs
New Applicant Questions
I left NJM for another personal auto insurer, but I'm unhappy with them and want to reapply. Will NJM allow me back?
Anyone who was previously a named insured, resident spouse or an insured driver on an NJM Auto Insurance Policy is eligible to apply again. Applicants are subject to an underwriting review and must meet our acceptance criteria.
It is always a good idea to protect your assets, and you can do that with an NJM Umbrella Policy. For a moderate charge, an umbrella policy not only provides additional dollar-amount protection in case a lawsuit is filed against you following an auto accident or homeowners liability incident, it also offers protection against personal injury liability, such as libel or slander. Available to those who have NJM car and homeowners policies, an umbrella policy provides up to $10 million in coverage beyond your standard policies' limits.
Mandatory insurance inspection is in addition to the motor vehicle inspection program conducted by the State of New Jersey and mandated by law. The two inspections are separate and unrelated requirements.
Whenever a policyholder acquires a vehicle, he or she should call NJM immediately toll-free at 1-800-232-6600. Until NJM is notified by phone, the vehicle may not be covered for collision or other than collision. Check here to find inspection facilities.
Approximately 20,000 employers across the state are members of the New Jersey Business & Industry Association (NJBIA). To find out if your company is a member, check with your employer or contact us for assistance.
Membership eligibility may not be extended from family members unless the applicant or spouse is currently or was previously listed as an insured driver on the family member’s NJM auto insurance policy.
Parking tickets are not considered motor vehicle violations. However, failure to pay parking tickets can result in a suspension of driving privileges, which can affect eligibility.
Zero-point tickets are considered violations. Examples of zero-point violations include unsafe operation of a motor vehicle, and delaying traffic.
Our rating factors are partially based on age, gender and marital status.
If your significant other lives with you and drives cars registered to you, you can include him or her for your quote. Coverage limitations will apply.
If you are new to the state, you can apply for insurance but will be required to register the vehicle in New Jersey within 60 days from the start of your policy.
The discounts are included in the quote, but documentation will be required to prove eligibility at the time you purchase your policy.
The anti-theft device in your vehicle will be listed on the window sticker (if it was factory installed) or will be explained in the owner's manual. The discount also applies if you use The Club® or another similar device.
PIP stands for "Personal Injury Protection." This is your medical coverage for injuries you (and others) suffer in an auto accident. PIP pays if you or other persons covered under your policy are injured in an auto accident. It is sometimes called "no-fault" coverage because it pays your own medical expenses no matter who caused the auto accident. PIP has two parts:
- Coverage for the cost of treatment you receive from hospitals, doctors and other medical providers and any medical equipment that may be needed to treat your injuries.
- Reimbursement for certain other expenses you may have because you are hurt, such as lost wages and the need to hire someone to take care of your home or family.
Before selecting the health insurance provider option, you should find out if your health insurance will cover auto accident injuries and how much coverage is provided. Medicare and Medicaid do not offer the health insurance provider option.
A deductible is a payment you have to make before the insurer pays. For example, a $750 deductible means that you pay the first $750 of each claim out of your pocket.
This is a personal decision dependent upon how much you would be able to pay at the time of a loss. A lower deductible will result in a higher insurance premium. A higher deductible will result in a lower insurance premium; however, you will need to pay more out-of-pocket at the time of a loss.
You may obtain a quote, apply and purchase a policy without a New Jersey driver's license number. However, New Jersey laws require residents to hold a New Jersey driver's license so it is a good idea to get your license as soon as possible.
You can apply for insurance if you plan to own, lease or finance a vehicle. However, your policy cannot cover a vehicle registered to somebody outside your household.